Stenson Award nominees

The six nominees for this year’s Dernell Stenson Sportsmanship Award were announced on Tuesday (you can see my story on it right here.) There’s a video interview with one of the nominees, Brodie Greene, with the story. If you want to hear more from Greene, you can watch the entire, unedited (read: raw) video right here.



The winner will be announced on Saturday at the championship game. And lest you think that effort doesn’t lead to results, it’s interesting to note that all six  of these guys who are honored for their work ethic and makeup were hitting over .300 as of Tuesday’s games.

Only one time has a player won both the Stenson Award and the AFL MVP. That was Sam Fuld back in 2007. I don’t think it will happen this year, but the one guy who has a shot is Nolan Arenado. The Rockies third base prospect is third in the league in hitting, fifth in slugging and sixth in OPS. His 33 RBIs are second to Michael Olt. Even if Arenado doesn’t win MVP, he’s in the mix. And he and his Salt River Rafters are playing on Saturday for a ring.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: